Monday, December 23, 2013

The Redcoats are Coming


The Redcoats are Coming is an Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station Book by Marianne Hering and Nancy Sanders. This is a cute, short book that tells young children about The American Revolution. This book focuses on Patrick and Beth in 1775 as they try to let the community know that The Redcoats are coming. When focusing on this point in history, Patrick and Beth meet Paul Revere, John Hancock, and Samuel Adams.

 

This book offers children a great way to learn about history in an exciting way. It’s much better to read a story filled with adventure than to read something in a history book that may not seem the most exciting for elementary school aged children.  

 

I was given this book by Tyndale House in exchange for an honest review.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

This One Year My Princess Devotions


The One Year My Princess Devotions by Karen Whiting is a great devotional book for young girls, specifically preschool aged. They are short devotions with large writing and is very colorful, which is perfect for a younger child. Another thing that made them especially good for young girls is that they are written in a way that is very understandable and even relatable to young girls. The devotional is divided into sections including royal words, a princess thought, a prayer for the King, and princess in action. These include a Bible verse with an explanation of that verse. I think this is especially important for young children to learn Bible Verses at a young age, and this devotional does a great job of introducing young girls to Bible Verses.  This adorable book is a must-read for young girls!

 

I was given this book by Tyndale House in exchange for an honest review.

Monday, November 25, 2013

Christmas at Harmony Hill


Christmas at Harmony Hill by Ann Gabhart is a Shaker Story set after the Civil War. Heather Worth returns home during the war to have her baby, but her family does not welcome her back to her home because of his son’s death and the strong feelings of resentment created by the war. She soon finds herself living with her aunt in a Shaker community at Harmony Hill. Both Heather and her aunt Sophrena seem to be exactly what the other person needed at the perfect time in their lives.  

This is a cute Christmas book that is perfect for the holidays. This would be a perfect gift to give to your friends to read as a Christmas Gift!

Available November 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Monday, November 18, 2013

A Simple Christmas Wish


A Simple Christmas Wish by Melody Carlson is a cute but sad story about family during the Christmas season. Rachel Milligan is taking care of her young niece Holly while her parents are celebrating their anniversary overseas. She was not expecting the call that would change all of their lives forever: Holly’s parents died in a plane crash. Rachel begins to make plans for taking care of Holly when her brother’s will is discovered she finds out a distant Amish aunt is Holly’s new guardian. Rachel and Holly soon find themselves in an Amish community. As Holly struggles to adapt to her new life, Rachel must also come to terms with not having Holly in her life every day. Along the way, they meet new people in the Amish community as they both find their lives changing.

 

This book was a very easy read, and the main characters were likeable and relatable. This would be a great Christmas gift for any friend who likes to read!

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Revell as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Thursday, November 7, 2013

What Once was Lost


I recently read What Once was Lost by Kim Vogel Sawyer that follows Christina Williems and her Brambleville Asylum for the Poor which many poor people call their home. After a devastating fire, everyone is displaced from their home and Christina must find places for her residents to live as well as try to get funding to rebuild her home. After she is denied funding from the mission, she is happy to learn Levi Johnson, a local mill owner who took in a young blind child against his feelings of wanting to stay apart from the townspeople, is willing to provide supplies to rebuild the home.

 

As Christina faces many difficulties in rebuilding her home and also faces false accusations, she begins to rely more and more on Levi Johnson. I really enjoyed this book and all of the characters. It was great to see how when faced with changes in their lives, the residents of the home were able to find new homes with townspeople. I liked the relationship that grew between Levi Johnson and Christina as they were both always trying to rely on only themselves, but they soon realized they could rely on God when they are facing problems.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from WaterBrook Publishing as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Friday, October 25, 2013

Perfectly Matched


Perfectly Matched is the third book by Maggie Brendan in the Blue Willow Bridges Series. Anna Olsen has moved to Denver Colorado as a mail order bride in the year 1888. She wanted to have a home of her own, but her marriage was not exactly what she thought it would be. Rather than be told what to do by her new husband Edward, she decided to help save animals that were treated poorly and abandoned. They do not both agree on this course for her life, and we quickly see Edward concerned about the lack of scheduling and precision in his life.

 

Both Edward and Anna offer good examples that in marriage, and all relationships, compromise is necessary. I read the first two books in this series, but it’s not necessary to read the first ones to understand what is going on in this book. I think that most animal-lovers will find themselves interested in this book.   

 

"Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."
 

Friday, October 18, 2013

A Reluctant Courtship


The third and final book in the Daughters of Bainbridge House by Laurie Alice Eakes is called A Reluctant Courtship and follows Honore Bainbridge. Honore, the youngest in the family, does not have the best of luck finding a suitor, as she was courted by both a traitor and a murderer. When her family send her away to their summer home she finds herself falling for Lord Ashmoor - Meric Poole. He also has secrets that might make him unsuitable for her; he came back to England from America and is accused of helping people escape from Dartmoor Prison.  

From the first line, I was completely enthralled in this story with its romance and mystery. I really liked the main characters in this story and Laurie Alice Eakes’ writing style. She makes the reader feel as if they can relate to the characters and their need for forgiveness. I would recommend this entire series to anyone interested in historical romance books.  
Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

           Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Heart of the Country


 
I really love to read books that turn into movies. Even though I know many people feel that movies ruin the books, I always want to see if the book can translate well into a movie. I was not disappointed with the book and movie Heart of the County starring Jana Kramer. Heart of the Country by Rene Gutteridge and John Ward  tells the story of Faith and her husband Luke. When Luke’s company is investigated for running a Ponzi scheme, Faith returns to her home that she hasn’t visited in 10 years. Faith cannot believe that Luke lied to her so she goes to the only other place she knows she can turn to. Faith is soon facing her past and the death of her mother while trying to get along with her older sister Olivia. Luke, meanwhile, is at their home in New York City where he finds out everyone he thought was his friend has turned on him. Both of these characters soon come to realize that their families and faith are what they need to get through their difficult times.

 The book was written in a way that has each chapter from the perspective of a different character. I think this really added to the story because it helped me understand the reason certain characters acted in the way that they did, especially Faith’s sister. I think if we had only seen Olivia from the perspective of Faith, she would not have been a likeable character, but from getting her perspective it was possible to understand why she treated Faith the way she did. I really enjoyed this book, and the movie as well. I would recommend both to others.

 You can watch a trailer for the movie here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4DXfARALE8

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

 

 

Friday, October 11, 2013

Under a Blackberry Moon


Under a Blackberry Moon, by Serena B. Miller, continued the story of Moon Song who was originally introduced in the book The Measure of Katie Calloway. Moon Song had given birth to a young child when alone in the woods, and she stumbled into a lumber camp where Katie Calloway was the cook. Soon, she finds herself on her way back to her home with the Chippewas with Skypilot, a man she helped nurse back to health after an accident at the lumber camp. They face many different obstacles as they are traveling, and it was great to see their interaction with each other and their faith grow throughout the book.

 

I really enjoyed this book, and I was happy to read more about Skypilot since I really enjoyed his part in The Measure of Katie Calloway. The book was an easy read, and can be read as a stand-alone book, but I would recommend reading the first book in the series so you can understand the history the main characters had with one another.

 

Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Love's Awakening

Love's Awakening is the second book in the Ballantyne Legacy series by Laura Frantz, and the book was just as well written, if inot better than, the first. The book follows the story of Ellie Ballantyne, as she travels' back to her family home after attending school in Philadelphia. As she is traveling home, she meets Jack Turlock, who has a less than perfect home life in a family that is the enemy of the Ballantyne family. Soon they find themselves spending more time together when Ellie opens a school for young girls and begins to teach his young sister. As a realtionship begins to form between herself and Jack, she begins to question if she could ever have a place in their family since they are pro-slavery and they make whiskey.

I really enjooyed the main characters in this story, and I liked the historical focus on the book. It was intersting to read a book that contained information about the Underground Railroad because I don't often have a chance to read those types of books. In terms of the characters, Jack is a great example that no matter what type of family you come from, you are able to overcome and move beyound your background. I'm looking forward to the next book in this great series.   

 Available September 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Friday, September 20, 2013

The Invention of Sarah Cummings


The Invention of Sarah Cummings, by Olivia Newport, is the third book in her Avenue of Dreams Series based in Chicago. Sarah Cummings was introduced in the Dilemma of Charlotte Farrow book when she began working for the Banning household. As soon as I read about her in that book, I didn’t particularly like her, and it took a good majority of the newest book for me to start liking her. Sarah always seemed to think she was too good to be working for the Banning family, as she had dreams of being a part of the upper class. Sarah invents a new identity, Serena Cuthbert, which allows her to create a place for herself in upper society. She is able to keep up this charade by dressing the part by re-fashioning the gowns given to her by the Banning family.  

 

I really have enjoyed all of the books in this series, and I ended up enjoying this book, but I didn’t really connect with the Character of Sarah as much as I had the others in previous books. I don’t know if this book would have been as enjoyable if I had read it as a stand-alone, but I did end up liking the growth of the main character as she found out what was important in life.  

 

Available September 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

All in Good Time


All in Good Time, written by Maureen Lang, is a part of The Gilded Legacy Series, and it focuses on Dessa Caldwell’s plans to open Pierson House. This will be a place for former prostitutes in Denver to live once Dessa is able to get a bank loan as final financing for her project. Henry Hawkins is the owner of the bank, and he has no desire to become involved in the Pierson House. His business partner, and family member, becomes involved and gives Dessa the loan which intertwines the stories of Dessa and Henry. They both have pasts they are trying to hid, but through forgiveness they are able to grow, both in their faith and personal lives.

 

Maureen Lang is one of my favorite authors, so I was really excited to read this book. I really enjoyed it and the characters she created. They were very likeable and relatable in that many people have something in their past they aren’t proud of. I look forward to reading more stories that she writes.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

A Season for Tending


A Season for Tending is the first book in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series by Cindy Woodsmall. The book introduces the reader to many interesting characters including Rhoda Byler, Samuel King, and Samuel’s young sister Leah. Rhoda is most herself when she’s tending to her herbs and berries and helping those in need. Rhoda must deal with rumors being spread about her due to her premonitions about trouble and her healing through herbs from her garden.  A few hours away, Samuel King has an apple orchard that is facing difficulties that him and his brothers are trying to resolve while his sister Leah goes through her rumschpringe. Samuel and Rhoda meet through Leah, and Samuel is soon trying to find a way to partner with Rhoda to help with his family orchard.

 

I always like to read books by Cindy Woodsmall, and I was not disappointed with this book. Her characters were relatable, and I liked reading more about the rumschpringe time of Leah. I cannot wait to read the next books in this series. If you’re interested in this book, you can read the first chapter here.

 

"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."

A Surprise for Lily


A Surprise of Lily is the most recent book in The Adventures of Lily Lapp series by Suzanne Woods Fisher that I have read, and it is just as cute as the other books in the series. This last story in the series looks at Lily in 5th grade, and the changes she is facing in her life are similar to what any girl her age would face. This book is not only relevant to Amish children, but it makes a great story for children to understand how the Amish Community lives.

I was given this book free of charge for an honest review.

Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Friday, August 30, 2013

On Distant Shores

I always find myself reading WWII books, and I would have to say one of my favorite authors in this genre of books is Sarah Sundin. I really enjoyed her first book in the Wings of the Nightingale series, and I was extremely excited when I found out the second book in this series, On Distant Shores, was now available. This book goes back in time to cover some of the same times as was originally in her first book With Every Letter. On Distant Shores shows the perspective of Lt. Georgiana Taylor, a flight nurse who has a boyfriend, Ward, back home, and she seems to wish she was back home with him rather than facing dangerous situations. Technical Sergeant John Hutchinson (Hutch) is another of the main characters who has a fiancĂ©e back home. He is a pharmacist who truly loves his profession, but not always the way he is treated by others since he is a non-commissioned officer. 

Throughout this story we see the interactions of Georgie and Hutch, and it’s great to read about them and see their relationship grow while they face difficulties. They both relied on their faith throughout the difficult situations they faced, and I think that is a great example for the readers to have. I think both of these characters were very likable, and they grow in both their profession and personal attitude throughout the book.

I cannot wait to read the next book in this series…from Sarah Sundin’s website it looks like the next book comes out in 1 year!!

I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Revell in exchange for honest review.

Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Friday, August 9, 2013

The Letters


Rose is looking for a way to earn money to keep her mother-in-law’s farm surviving while still staying home to raise her children. What better way to do that than by opening a bed and breakfast in her Amish Community? When Delia finds herself facing the end of her marriage and a cancer diagnosis, The In at Eagle Hill provides just the rest she needs. Throughout the book The Letters, Suzanne Woods Fisher finds a way to connect to every age group. I found myself particularly looking forward to hearing about Bethany. A 19 year old girl who thinks she is in love with a young Mennonite boy who does not seem to share the same feelings. There is the eldest member of the family, Vera, who is constantly criticizing those living in her house. When her son dies, his family, including his second wife, Rose, their 2 young boys Luke and Sammy, and their young daughter Mim find themselves under her roof.

 

I really enjoyed this book, and I was excited to read about some of the characters that were the focus of other books by Suzanne Woods Fisher. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series!!

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

"Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Dolled up to Die

Dolled Up to Die by Lorena McCourtney was the most recent book I read, and it was different from anything I have ever read, but I liked it. Cate Kinkaid is an assistant investigator for her uncle's company. Due to the number of murder cases in her town, Cate finds herself investigating a shooting of 4 victims...3 of which are dolls! Although Cate can seem a little ditzy, she is able to put the pieces together and solve the murder. Cate is a very likable character, and I cannot wait to read more books in the series.

Available July 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

A Big Year for Lily

A Big Year for Lily is a cute childrens book by Suzanne Woods Fisher that takes the reader back to the Lapp home. Lily is 9 years old in the book, and she is about to have her 10th birthday. Lily is facing some problems at school. This topic is something most young children have experienced, so it will really resonate with the young tween age group. The book also looks at family life. Lily is the oldest sibling, so we get to read about the chores and responsibilities in a typical Amish family.

Available July 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

Monday, June 24, 2013

Slow Moon Rising


Slow Moon Rising is the final book by Eva Marie Everson in the Cedar Key Novel series that looks at the Claybourne family: Anise, Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami. Each member of this family has some type of issue they are dealing with that keeps the reader interested on their individual story and seeing resolution to their problems. The book is written in the perspective of the four sisters and their step-mother, Anise. I enjoyed how this book spanned over 10 years by looking at the family during their time spent at their summer home in Cedar Key.  

 

I really enjoyed this book, and the fact that each of these women was flawed but was able to find forgiveness. This is a great story that looks at the realities of family without sugar-coating what many people go through in their relationships with others.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

"Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

Thursday, June 13, 2013

A Simple Song

A Simple Song is a cute book for teenagers written by Melody Carlson. Katrina Yoder is a young Amish girl who has an interest in singing. She takes it upon herself to enter a singing competition to earn money for an expensive surgery her father must have. Katrina’s family does not approve of her singing, and they definitely would not allow her to be involved in a singing competition for the whole world to see.

In light of all the singing competition shows that are on television right now, I really enjoyed this book and felt like it was very relevant. It was a relatively easy read, and it was an interesting concept of seeing how a young Amish girl would behave in the “English” world. Also, the character of Katrina was very likeable, and it was great to see her go after her dream. As with all the other Melody Carlson books I have read, this book was very entertaining and would be great to share with other friends to read.  

“Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Sunday, May 19, 2013

When Love Calls

When Love Calls is a cute new story by Lorna Seilstad that looks at the Gregory Sisters, specifically Hannah Gregory, the eldest. Hannah is very headstrong which will serve her well in her training to become an attorney. She is no longer able to attend school due to the death of her parents, so she decides to become a Hello Girl, or telephone operator, to support her two younger sisters. Around the same time, she meets Lincoln Cole when the bank he was employed at repossed her family home. She is determined to have nothing to do with Lincoln, but when a family friend needs an attorney, she turns to him for help.

I liked the dynamics of the relationship between Hannah and her two sisters. Since I have two sisters of my own, I can say that this relationship was very believable. I also liked the character of Lincoln. Withiut even knowing the Gregory family, he went out of his way to help them. I liked reading their relationship develop. I cannot wait to read more books in this series.

I was provided a free copy of this book by Revell publishers. I was notnrequired tonwrite a positive review.

Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Julie Lessman's newest book, Love at Any Cost, is the fist book in The Heart of San Francisco series which looks at the McClare family. Cassidy moves to live with an aunt in San Francisco after suffering heartbreak in her hometown in Texas. The last thing on her mind when moving to San Francisco is romance, but it's hard for her to not fall for Jamie McKenna. Jamie is a young lawyer at her uncle's law firm, and he is trying to raise money to move his mother and sister out of the neighborhood where they currently live. To do that, he thinks he must marry into a wealthy family, and he thinks Cassidy is the answer to his problems. Little does he know, her family has come into hard financial times, and she does not have the finances to take care of his mother and sister, who suffers from health problems.

I really liked the characters in this book, and Jamie was the perfect "pretty boy" that you can't help but root for. Cassidy was also a great character. She had to overcome her past feelings of rejection and betrayal in order to move forward with Jamie. I think this is a situation most people can relate to, and for that reason, I found myself rooting for their relationship to work and for them to move forward together.

I cannot wait to read more books in this series!! This is one of the best books I have read in a long  time and I can't wait to share it with others!


Available April 15, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Saturday, March 23, 2013

Scent of Lilacs


Scent of Lilacs is the first book in the Hollyhill Series of books by Ann H. Gabhart, and I cannot wait to read the rest of the books in this series set in Hollyhill, Kentucky. Since this book is a re-release (it was originally released in 2005), I won’t have to wait too long to read the other books in the series!!

 

Jocie Brooke is 13 years old in the early 1960s, and she is being raised by her single father who desires to be a pastor. Jocie’s mother and sister left when she was very young, but during the summer of 1964 her sister, Tabitha, returns home, pregnant and divorced. The summer of 1964 turns out to be a very eventful one for Joci her family. Jocie’s family is hiding a secret, and she begins to uncover the past.  

 

I liked the way that this book was written, switching from the voice of Jocie and her father, David. Allowing the reader to see the perspective from different characters differentiated this book from others in this same genre. Joci was a great main character, and it was great to read about her strong faith at such a young age. Like I said, I cannot wait to read more books in the Hollyhill Series!       

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

 

“Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Sunday, March 17, 2013

Love in a Broken Vessel, by Mesu Andrews, looks at the life of  the prophet Hosea and his unlikely marriage to a prostitute, Gomer. God directed Hosea to this marriage, and this book looks in depth at the relationship between them. Hosea continues to show compassion to Gomer regardless of her actions and the fact that she returns to the sins of her past.

I really enjoyed this book, and I liked that it make me re-think my views on an unlikely heroine. Gomer faced difficulties in her life, and the writing, which showed insight into Gomer's life, enabled me to understand why she acted the way she did. She continually returned to the only lfe she knew, the one she was sold into at a young age. The actions of Hosea teach everyone a helpful lesson in forgiveness. Overall, I really liked reading this book. Although it was very in-depth, the descriptiveness made the book even more interesting to read. I cannot wait to read more books by Mesu Andrews.      

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Saturday, March 9, 2013

Moonlight Masquerade

Moonlight Masquerade by Ruth Axtell is the most recent book I read , and I'm really happy I was able to read this Regency romance book. Lady Wexham is a French born widow who had been married to a cruel English Earl. After his death, the government feels she may be a spy for France. Due to their thoughts, they have a man, Rees Phillips, pose as her butler to basically spy on her. As you could imagine, romance begins to grow between Lady Celine and Rees.

I really liked this book and the historical aspect of the book which was during the time of Napoleon. I also liked that the book centered around spies, since I am very interested in those types of books and TV shows. Overall, I really liked this book and cannot wait to read more books by Ruth Axtell.  

Available March 2013 at your local bookstore from Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book free from BAKER REVELL as part of their blogger review program. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC 16 CFR, Part 255 'Guides concerning the use of endorsements and testimonials in advertising. I was not asked to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Sunday, February 24, 2013

When the Heart Heals


When the Heart Heals is the second book in the Sisters of Heart Series by Ann Shorey, and it looks at Rosemary Saxon during one of my favorite times to read about, The Civil War. Rosemary served as a nurse during the Civil War so it would only be expected that she would become a nurse in the 1860s in Noble Springs, Missouri with the new doctor. Rosemary begins working with Dr. Elijah Stewart even though they have some differences in terms of how to treat their patients. In addition to their work relationship, they begin to have feelings for one another in the midst of threatening actions being taken against her.

 

I really liked this book since, as I said, I’m a fan of books written during the Civil War time-period. It also shows how times change, and how people felt about natural remedies during the mid-1800s. In addition to the historical aspect, there was a cute relationship that formed between Dr. Elijah and Rosemary. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series!   

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

 

“Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Friday, February 15, 2013

Rebekah


Rebekah is the newest book in the Wives of the Patriarchs series by Jill Eileen Smith. After the death of Rebekah’s father, her brother Laban is responsible for finding a husband for her. Although she is nervous about who she will choose for her, he makes a good decision when he promises her to their cousin Isaac who she falls in love with during their first meeting. Upon the later birth of their twins, Esau and Jacob, she had a vision from God which indicated the older brother will serve his younger brother. This created a rift in the family, as mother and father each chose a different favorite child who they wanted to see lead their people.   

 

I like that this is a story most people are aware of, but the way that it is written bring in new insight into the reason Rebekah acted the way she did. I had always looked at her as deceptive and never paid much attention to the reasoning behind her actions. Although I read the first book in the series, you do not need to read these books in any particular order to understand and enjoy them.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

 

“Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Monday, February 11, 2013

I Still Believe


I have been a fan of Jeremy Camp since the first time my older sister played his music for me, after she heard him speak at a creation concert. She told me that his life paralleled the movie “A Walk to Remember” and I was very excited to get the opportunity to read his book I Still Believe. Jeremy Camp was raised in a Christian home, and there were some years where he seemed to rebel against what he knew was the correct way to live his life. He didn’t do anything drastic, but it was enough to cause him to make some difficult choices in his life, such as leaving his high school and his football team to attend a Christian school. Jeremy soon after met Melissa who he proposed to while she was fighting cancer. After their marriage, they were confident her cancer was gone, but it soon returned and Jeremy lost his wife. The book then looks at Jeremy’s steps to overcome the terrible loss in his life. Jeremy eventually finds new love and is now married to Adie Camp and has three young children. Jeremy details the emotions he felt after losing his wife and the way he dealt with finding new love.

 

I really enjoyed this book, and I am excited to order Jeremy’s new CD. I have really enjoyed his songs in the past, and I liked how the book told some of the emotions he felt as he was writing some of his best-known songs. Jeremy wrote this book with sincerity and complete honesty. Through this book Jeremy’s relationship with Jesus is evident, and he clearly wants to share this relationship with others. I think this book is a great read for everyone.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Friday, February 8, 2013

A New Home for Lily


I recently read A New Home for Lily, the second book from the Adventures of Lily Lapp series by Suzanne Woods Fisher. This was a cute book that is perfect to be read to a younger child. Lily moves from New York to Pennsylvania, and this causes changes in her life. The book shows that moving for an Amish child is similar to what an “English” child goes through when they move. Lily has to deal with new friends, a new school, and even a new home. As she moves to PA, she also starts to take on more responsibilities in the home which prove to be interesting to read about.

 

I thought this book was the perfect book for a child in the 9-12 age range, and I cannot wait to share it with my younger cousins who will love to learn more about Amish culture.

 

Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Saturday, January 26, 2013

The Dilemma of Charlotte Farrow


The Dilemma of Charlotte Farrow is the second book I’ve read in the Avenue of Dreams series by Olivia Newport, and I really liked the continuation of this series. This book focuses on Charlotte Farrow, who is a maid for the Banning family who lives in the wealthy Prairie Avenue section of Chicago. In the first book, Lucy Banning became friends with Charlotte, and helped her find a woman to take care of her young newborn. In The Dilemma of Charlotte Farrow, Charlotte’s son is brought back to the Banning family. She must decide what is the best way to have her son Henry taken care of while remaining in her position so she can earn money to take care of him.

 

In addition to being a romance, this book also had many historical aspects, as it took place during the 1893 World’s Fair and also looked at the lives of servants during this time. Archie Shepard is another character who works in the Banning household, and the relationship between him and Charlotte is another reason I enjoyed this book so much. Archie was very understanding and was a great counterpart for Charlotte as he tried to show her to rely on others and God when she faces obstacles in her life. Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and I can’t wait to hopefully read more books in the Avenue of Dreams Series.   

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

 

“Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Friday, January 18, 2013

Choices of the Heart


Choices of the Heart by Laurie Alice Eakes is the third book in the Midwives series, and it looks at Esther Cherrett. Esther was trained by her mother as a midwife, but her career quickly changes when a scandal emerges that she is in the center of. She soon moves to Virginia and begins teaching to leave her past behind. Although she is hiding from her past, she finds herself involved in entirely new problems. Two feuding families have intentions of Esther marrying their sons, despite the fact that the two men, Griff Tolliver and Zach Brooks, have pledged to end their family feud.    

 

I really liked the focus of this book, and the fact that it showed you don’t have to run away from your past since it’s possible to find redemption. I also liked the romance part of the book and the dedication Griff showed to ending the cycle of feuding which existed between his and Zach’s family. I’m glad I had the chance to read all 3 of the books in the Midwives Books Series!!    

 

Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.



Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Waiting for Spring


In Waiting for Spring, the second book in the Westward Winds Series by Amanda Cabot, Charlotte Harding finds herself hiding many secrets about herself: who her husband was, why she is hiding, where she grew up, her previous career, and the fact that her son is blind. She never expected to meet someone like Barrett Landry. He is a wealthy cattle baron who is contemplating a run for political office. Although their attraction to one another is apparent, Barrett’s advisors are pushing for him to marry the daughter of an influential newspaperman. These is also some suspense and mystery, as the “bad guy” is after money he assumes Charlotte is in possession of.  

 

I loved the romance aspect of this book, as well as the characters. I was really rooting for Charlotte and Barrett, as well as the secondary characters. Although I read the first book in this series, it’s not necessary to have read it to understand what is going on in Waiting for Spring.

 

"Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

 

*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*  

Saturday, January 12, 2013

The Lesson


 

The Lesson tells the story of Mary Kate Lapp, the last daughter in the Lapp family who have their stories told in the Stoney Ridge Seasons of books. Mary Kate, M.K., is the youngest daughter in her family, and she is definitely the most precocious of all the children. No matter what she tries to do, there always seems to be some type of disaster following the 19 year old.

 

M.K. dreams of travel, and she wants to leave her Amish community. Her plans for travel are put on hold when she causes an accident which leaves the school teacher out of commission for 10 weeks. M.K. finds herself with a new position in her community as she becomes the substitute teacher. In addition to her new job, M.K. can’t help but let her imagination wander when she decides the newest resident of her town is a thief and murderer. Obviously, this creates many interesting moments for M.K.    

 

I really enjoyed this book, and as I read the other books in the series, I could not wait to learn about M.K. since she was always entertaining in the other books. I thought this book tied in nicely with the others in the series, but you don’t necessarily have to read the first 2 in order to enjoy this book. I’m sad to see this series come to an end, but I will be looking forward to more books by Suzanne Woods Fisher.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

 

“Available January 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”


Suzanne Woods Fisher is holding a contest in celebration of the release of The Lesson. Suzanne is giving away TWO iPads and iTunes gift cards!
Contest details on Suzanne's site: http://suzannewoodsfisher.com/contest
Contest dates: Jan 3-20, 2013
Two winners will receive:
• A brand new iPad
• A $15 gift certificate to iTunes