Saturday, June 16, 2012

Waiting for Sunrise

Waiting for Sunrise by Eva Marie Everson is a book in the Cedar Key Novel Series that looks at Patsy Milstrap and her wishes to leave everything in her past behind her. Patsy had a difficult childhood which left her with feelings of neglect after her mother sent her away at the age of 13. Patsy’s past never truly leaves her, as she is still struggling with her childhood memories after her marriage and birth of 5 children. Her husband decides what she needs is a vacation to Cedar Key on Florida’s Gulf Coast. While vacationing, she sees someone from her past which causes her to face a difficult time in her life.  

The book is set up in flashbacks where we learn more about Patsy’s childhood as we progress through the book. The reasoning behind Patsy’s mother sending her away isn’t as clear cut as may originally believed, and we see the devastating effects an abusive relationship can have on a family as Patsy’s mother must make difficult decisions to protect her children.

I loved all of the characters in this book, and I really felt for Patsy and the emotions she was feeling throughout the book. She must learn to forgive those who wronged her in the past, which is a very difficult thing to do. Forgiveness is a topic which all people struggle with at some point in their life, and I think that made the book very poignant.

I can’t wait to read more books in this series!!

*Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

No comments:

Post a Comment